Harmony Book Reviews

Artichoke’s Heart by Suzanne Supplee

Posted on: November 14, 2008

Artichoke's Heart

Title: Artichoke’s Heart

Author: Suzanne Supplee

Rating:9.5/10

Summary: (Taken from Amazon)

Rosemary Goode is smart and funny and loyal and the best eyebrow waxer in Spring Hill, Tennessee. But only one thing seems to matter to anyone, including Rosemary: her weight. And when your mom runs the most successful (and gossipy) beauty shop in town, it can be hard to keep a low profile. Rosemary resolves to lose the weight, but her journey turns out to be about everything but the scale. Her life-changing, waist-shrinking year is captured with brutal honesty and humor, topped with an extralarge helping of Southern charm. A truly uncommon novel about an increasingly common problem.

My Thoughts: Wow. I was so incredibly blown away by Artichoke’s Heart. I only wish I’d picked it up sooner. The one thing that stopped me from doing so was the fact it was about a “fat” girl losing weight and generally, I shy away from those books. I rarely find them to be realistic and since I relate to this subject very closely, it just aggravates me. But Artichoke’s Heart by Suzanne Supplee did anything but that.

Rosemary Goode is probably the most realistic character I’ve read about. Yes, she’s “fat” to some people but she also has an incredible personality. The way she thinks and sees other people from a “fat girls” perspective is something you don’t ever really hear about but is easily understood, especially when you’ve been through a similar experience. For those who can’t relate to the way she thinks, Artichoke’s Heart would definitely be an eye-opener.

The way Supplee handled the weight issue was amazing. People who are skinny seem to think that losing weight is simple as putting it on and that you can just decide you aren’t going to be fat anymore. Yeah, sorry, but it doesn’t happen like that. Supplee brings truth to what really goes on in a fat girl’s mind.

The romance portion of the novel was also well-written. I just wish there were more boys like Kyle in the world.

Truthfully, I wish that I could force everyone to read this novel. It blew me away and I’m positive I’m not the only one. So, if you’re going out to be a book this weekend, buy this one. You won’t regret it!

4 Responses to "Artichoke’s Heart by Suzanne Supplee"

OOh! High praise! I’ll have to check this one out.

As you know, this subject is very close to my heart and I’m always looking for realistic, positive portrayals. Thanks for the rec. 🙂

I loved this book as well. I totally agree with you. Awesome review!!

[…] @ 5:31 am I absolutely adored Suzanne’s book, Artichoke’s Heart, (see my review here) and Suzanne is extremely nice to chat with. So I’m very happy to present this interview to […]

Leave a Reply

Categories

