Harmony Book Reviews

Let It Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson, and Lauren Myracle

Posted on: November 13, 2008

Three Holiday Stories

 

Title: Let it Snow

Authors: John Green, Maureen Johnson, and Lauren Myracle

Rating: 7/10

Summary: (Taken from Amazon)

Sparkling white snowdrifts, beautiful presents wrapped in ribbons, and multicolored lights glittering in the night through the falling snow. A Christmas Eve snowstorm transforms one small town into a romantic haven, the kind you see only in movies. Well, kinda. After all, a cold and wet hike from a stranded train through the middle of nowhere would not normally end with a delicious kiss from a charming stranger. And no one would think that a trip to the Waffle House through four feet of snow would lead to love with an old friend. Or that the way back to true love begins with a painfully early morning shift at Starbucks. Thanks to three of today’s bestselling teen authors—John Green, Maureen Johnson, and Lauren Myracle—the magic of the holidays shines on these hilarious and charming interconnected tales of love, romance, and breathtaking kisses.

My Thoughts: I…well, to be honest, I didn’t like this anywhere near as much as I was expecting. That’s not to say it wasn’t GOOD but I was expecting something that would blow me away. And this was not it. I’ve decided that since if the first book I’ve reviewed with multiple authors, I’m going to take each story separately.

 Jubilee Express by Maureen Johnson – This story and this story alone is what kept me from giving this book a lower grade. MJ has been a favorite author of mine for quite some time and she definitely does not disappoint. The story itself is definitely the most original of the three and the characters are incredibly well developed, probably moreso than you’d expect for a story this short. The relationships seemed so real and even though certain things seemed unlikely, it was impossible to put the book down.

 A Cheertastic Christmas Miracle by John Green – Surprisingly, this was the story I expected to like most but ended up liking least. It wasn’t very original, I had the ending predicted half way through the story, and the characters seemed to fall slightly flat. The one thing I did love, though, was the prose. I loved the slang and descriptions used. Unfortunately, I think I was expecting more from Green, after hearing so many fabulous things about his writing. I can only hope his regular novels are better.

 Patron Saint of Pigs by Lauren Myracle – Lauren Myracle is absolutely fabulous. Her humor and craziness are just to be adored and they definitely show through her writing. Patron Saint of Pigs is a ridiculously cute story. Yes, the characters weren’t very well developed and the plot was slightly predictable but the story is just so ridiculously cute.

 So do I recommend this or not? Definitely but just don’t expect the stories to blow you out of your seat.

3 Responses to "Let It Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson, and Lauren Myracle"

I think in a book like this, there’s bound to be predictability since it says right on the cover “holiday romances”. So, in that sense, its predictability shouldn’t lower your grading of it.

But I pretty much agree with you. It wasn’t the best book, but it was very cute and that’s really all I needed from it, haha. Great review.

Hmm, I liked the book a lot, but I found your review kind of odd. I liked all three stories, Jubilee Express the most and Patron Saint of Pigs the least. I find it odd that you didn’t like Cheertastic Christmas because it was predictable, but loved Jubilee Express. Honestly, I found Jubilee Express very predictable. From the first description of Noah, I had suspected how the story would end. When she left the Waffle House with Stuart, I was certain. I loved MJ’s story because it was just so cute, but alas, it was also predictable. This is why I find it weird that you liked didn’t like Green’s story, but loved MJ’s.

[…] Thoughts: The last time I read any of Lauren Myracle’s writing was in the Let it Snow anthology and I wasn’t all that impressed with her writing style. But when I saw the cover of […]

Leave a Reply

Categories

