Harmony Book Reviews

Amor and Summer Secrets

Posted on: November 8, 2008

Amor and Summer SecretsTitle:Amor and Summer Secrets
Author:Diana Rodriguez Wallach
Rating: 9/10
Summary: (Taken from author’s site)
Fifteen-year-old Mariana Ruiz has no desire to step foot outside her affluent Philadelphia suburb. BUT she may not have a choice.

With total disregard to the high-glam Sweet 16 her best friend is hosting, Mariana’s father ships her off to a tiny mountain town in Puerto Rico to stay with family she’s never met. The heat is merciless, the food is spicy, and only one of her relatives—her distant cousin Lilly—speaks English. Her consolation prize is Lilly’s homespun Puerto Rican Quinceãnera. Only the riotously festive party exposes Mariana to more than just her culture. She uncovers new friends, her first love, and a family secret that’s been buried on the island for more than 30 years.

My Thoughts:Amor and Summer Secrets is a fun, well-written novel about exploring your heritage, secrets, and friendship.

Mariana and her two best friends seem exceedingly conceited at the beginning of the novel. All they seem to care about is spending thousands of dollars on their Sweet Sixteens. But, as the novel continues on, their personalities become more distinct. Mariana, especially, becomes a truly unique character, and not just because of her ancestry. Lilly, too, is a great character to read about.

Once you get going, the plot flies by fast, but not to the point where it feels rushed. With all of the party-planning, dating, and family drama, there’s hardly a place for boredom.

While Amor and Summer Secrets is quite stereo-typical in some places, it’s definitely a fun, fast read that I definitely recommend. I can’t wait for the rest in the series!

2 Responses to "Amor and Summer Secrets"

I have a web site, http://jijol.com, and have spent a lot of time and effort to ensure my visitors gain the maximum benefit from their visit, and from what I have to offer.

As our web sites are closely related and our products do not compete, I feel the exchanging of links would be a mutually beneficial arrangement. If you are interested in exchanging links, please feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience.

Kindly add my site to your Link Exchange Tabs / Blog Roll and shoot me an email so that I can do that same for your site.

Title: Jijol.Com – Key To Success
URL: http://jijol.com

Best regards,
Joseph

[…] This is book three in her trilogy. You can see reviews for the first two books in the series here and here. My review for Adios to all the Drama will be coming soon. You can also view my interview […]

Leave a Reply

  • Megan: Just read LAST CHRISTMAS. I would SOOO reccomend it to people who havent even read the private series. It is soo good.The suspense was kiling me all t
  • Lola: Oh my gosh! i just finished it....i googled the song for i had never herd it before......may have been a mistake because it is in my head for taciturn
  • mais: heeeyyyy.... can anyonePLEASE give me the link or even send me the copy of the eighth book(revelation on my email because i cant find it anywhere for

Categories

