Harmony Book Reviews

Song of the Sparrow by Lisa Ann Sandell

Posted on: October 24, 2008

Song Of The SparrowTitle: Song of the Sparrow
Author: Lisa Ann Sandell
Rating: 8/10
Summary: (Taken from Amazon)
The year is 490 AD.  Fiery 16-year-old Elaine of Ascolat,  the daughter of one of King Arthur’s supporters,  lives with her father on Arthur’s base camp,  the sole girl in a militaristic world of men. Elaine’s only girl companion is the mysterious Morgan, Arthur’s older sister, but Elaine cannot tell Morgan her deepest secret: She is in love with Lancelot, Arthur’s second-in-command. However, when yet another girl — the lovely Gwynivere– joins their world, Elaine is confronted with startling emotions of jealousy and rivalry. But can her love for Lancelot survive the birth of an empire?

My Thoughts: Books written in verse are a hesitant choice for me. Those about history are even more so. But upon hearing about this retelling of the tale of King Arthur, I became intrigued. Then, after seeing so many glowing reviews from reviewers I respected, I knew that I need this book.

Upon starting it, I knew very little of the legend of King Arthur. That made it take a little while longer for me to actually get into the whole retelling but after a few pages, I was hooked.

The characters were extremely well developed, especially for a verse novel, and the plot seemed quite original, though since I’ve yet to read any other retellings, I can’t really say. The plot was full of action and romance and always left you on the edge of your seat and made it hard to put the book down.

All in all, Song of the Sparrow is a great book and I definitely recommend it, even if you don’t know too much about King Arthur.

6 Responses to "Song of the Sparrow by Lisa Ann Sandell"

Harmony, I feel the same way about novels in verse, altho I used to be intimidated by them, assuming I wouldn’t be able to get what the writer was intending. Then I got a copy of “A Bad Boy Can Be Good For a Girl” by Tanya Lee Stone and LOVED it. Opened my eyes to verse. Try Joyce Lee Wong’s “Seeing Emily” – truly excellent – (disclaimer: she’s also a friend of mine).

Yay! I’m so glad you enjoyed it. It really is a good book isn’t it? 🙂

this book rocked 🙂

I’m 14 years old and I ADORED this book! I feel that Elaine always stayed true to herself that I could easily put myself in her shoes. All of the characters in the novel felt very realistic, although they were a bit stereotype. I felt that the story being written in free verse made it all the more special. THIS BOOK ROCKS!!!!!!! 😀

Ahh…I did really enjoy this book. Now admittedly I grew up on tales of King Arthur and the legend thereof, so for me it was interesting to compare and contrast. Beyond that though, I guess I didn’t have too much trouble with it being verse ’cause I read a lot of tanka poetry–Salad Anniversary by Machi Tawara being my latest–and those are of course verse. That’s what this reminded me of after a little while.

Leave a Reply

  • Megan: Just read LAST CHRISTMAS. I would SOOO reccomend it to people who havent even read the private series. It is soo good.The suspense was kiling me all t
  • Lola: Oh my gosh! i just finished it....i googled the song for i had never herd it before......may have been a mistake because it is in my head for taciturn
  • mais: heeeyyyy.... can anyonePLEASE give me the link or even send me the copy of the eighth book(revelation on my email because i cant find it anywhere for

Categories

