Harmony Book Reviews

I Wanna Be Your Joey Ramone by Stephanie Kuehnert

Posted on: October 7, 2008

 

I Wanna Be Your Joey Ramone

 

Title: I Wanna Be Your Joey Ramone
Author: Stephanie Kuehnert
Rating: 10/10
Summary:

The Clash. Social Distortion. Dead Kennedys. Patti Smith. The Ramones.

Punk rock is in Emily Black’s blood. Her mother, Louisa, hit the road to follow the incendiary music scene when Emily was four months old and never came back. Now Emily’s all grown up with a punk band of her own, determined to find the tune that will bring her mother home. Because if Louisa really is following the music, shouldn’t it lead her right back to Emily?

My Thoughts:

By now, you’ve probably seen fifty or so reviews of this book, each of them saying in one form or another how amazing it is. You’re probably sick and tired of hearing it but I’m going to say it one more time.

This.Book.Is.Amazing.Read.It.Now.

I could honestly stop there but that wouldn’t be much of a review, would it?

IWBYJR is comprised of my things that make it so great. These would include realistic characters, a compelling plot, and an intriguing music scene. The characters are each very dynamic, with their own personality, secrets, and place in the plot. I guarantee you will be able to relate to or at least understand everyone of them. The plot is one of friendship, rock-and-roll, and the true meaning of family. That may seem to be a little much to fit into just one book but Keuhnert does it with ease. Her prose is by no means lyrical but it does possess a certain magic that will captivate the reader. And the music scene? Well, the music scene was one of my favorite parts of the novel and all other music lovers are sure to be intrigued by it. But if you’re not huge on music, don’t worry. I Wanna Be Your Joey Ramone will draw you in and capture your heart anyway.

(However, due to certain subjects approached in this novel, I do not recommend it to young readers or those easily offended.)

3 Responses to "I Wanna Be Your Joey Ramone by Stephanie Kuehnert"

Okay – I haven’t read it yet, but you’ve convinced me! Going to get it right now! Can’t WAIT!!!

You’re so right! I’m reading the book right now and loving it, too. I had a chance to attend a signing for the book in San Francisco. Stephanie is absolutely lovely in person, a real sweetheart who deserves every bit of praise that’s being heaped upon her.

Loved this book! So honest. 🙂

Leave a Reply

  • Megan: Just read LAST CHRISTMAS. I would SOOO reccomend it to people who havent even read the private series. It is soo good.The suspense was kiling me all t
  • Lola: Oh my gosh! i just finished it....i googled the song for i had never herd it before......may have been a mistake because it is in my head for taciturn
  • mais: heeeyyyy.... can anyonePLEASE give me the link or even send me the copy of the eighth book(revelation on my email because i cant find it anywhere for

Categories

