Harmony Book Reviews

The Pact of the Wolves by Nina Blazon

Posted on: October 4, 2008

 

The Pact of the Wolves

Title: The Pact of the Wolves
Author: Nina Blazon
Rating: 8/10
Summary: (Taken from Publisher’s site)
A new girl at school. A secret society. A gray zone between human and beast.

When 16-year-old Bianca arrives at her new boarding school, she is startled to hear that its history includes rumors of witchcraft and torture. The building itself rests on the foundation of a medieval convent with a troubled past. There is also a secret society, whose members begin to harass her. Then one night she stumbles over the body of a dead woman.

With the help of her friend Nicholas, Bianca begins to piece together the story of the mysterious woman and the convent’s disturbing history. But Bianca can’t shake the feeling she is being followed. She soon realizes she can’t trust anyone—not even Nicholas.

My Thoughts: First, let me say that I was hesitant to start reading this. After I requested and received it in the mail, I suddenly realized that it was much darker than what I was normally comfortable reading. So there it sat on my shelf, waiting for me to read it. Finally, I decided that I had to read it. I’d requested it and I was going to read it. End of story. That turned out to be a very good decision. A very, very good one.

The Pact of the Wolves is a little confusing at first. With the switching of POVs in the beginning, it’s hard to follow exactly what’s going on. But after a few more chapters, everything becomes clear and the real mystery takes shape. The characters also evolve as the story continues and there’s more to each of them than you’d expect.

The plot itself is quite intriguing and mysterious. I don’t want to give much away but I must say that the end result was definitely not what I was expecting and I don’t think this is a novel you can easily predict the ending of.

So yes, The Pact of the Wolves is a dark novel. That would be why it’s been referred to as a “gothic novel”. But it also has some pretty humorous dialogue and intriguing characters. That, in my opinion cancelled out most of the “scariness”, making it a good read, even for those as easily scared as me. I definitely recommend it, especially for fans of mysteries.

1 Response to "The Pact of the Wolves by Nina Blazon"

I’ve seen this in the bookstore and searched for reviews but couldn’t find any that where more than 2 sentences. While looking through your past posts I found this review and am quite happy that it is a good one.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Megan: Just read LAST CHRISTMAS. I would SOOO reccomend it to people who havent even read the private series. It is soo good.The suspense was kiling me all t
  • Lola: Oh my gosh! i just finished it....i googled the song for i had never herd it before......may have been a mistake because it is in my head for taciturn
  • mais: heeeyyyy.... can anyonePLEASE give me the link or even send me the copy of the eighth book(revelation on my email because i cant find it anywhere for

Categories

