Harmony Book Reviews

Terri Clark Interview

Posted on: September 28, 2008

What gave you the inspiration for Sleepless?
Sleepless was inspired by a number of things converging, but my two biggest inspirations were my own fascination with dreams and a Denver Post article that exposed how violent criminals were pretending insanity so they would get locked up in a mental institute instead of jail. Many of these men then committed violent crimes on the staff–battery and sexual assault–and even walked off the campus to commit more crimes and disappear entirely. I found this appalling and one of the best things about being a writer is that you can write a wrong. 😉 
 
How has the final copy of Sleepless changed from the rough draft?
In too many ways to count! It was originally called IF I DIE BEFORE I WAKE, then SLEEPLESS SUMMER. When I pitched the idea it was set in Colorado and they asked me to change it to a beach. Coral, Trinity’s best friend, wasn’t in the first draft and the first chapter has had four different openings! LOL.    
 
Writing wise, are you a plotter or a plunger?
I love the word plunger! I’m somewhere in between. I usually plot out major points and then I like to wing it. However, Sleepless was so complicated that this was the most plotted out book I’ve done. I’ll probably do more plotting in the future because I found having a strong road map really strengthened the book for me.
 
What are you working on now? What will we be seeing from you next?
I’m working on a number of things. I’ve contributed an essay about Ellen Hopkins, my co-author on Breaking Up Is Hard to Do, for an anthology about her work. That will be published by BenBella sometime down the line. And then I’m working on another thriller about dopplegangers that I hope to sell sometime soon. I’d also love to write a sequel for Trinity, but that remains to be seen. Maybe if everyone writes HarperTeen and tells them they’d like to see one. 😉
 
Do you listen to music while you write? Who are some of your favorite singers and bands?
I can’t listen to music while I write. I’m weird that way. I hear the lyrics and start singing instead of writing. But I like to listen to classic rock–AC/DC, Kansas, etc.–and Evanesence, H.I.M., Paramore, Finger Eleven, The Veronicas, Natasha Bedingfield, Leona Lewis, really a little bit of everything.
 
Sleepless focuses a lot of lucid dreaming. Have you ever experienced it? Where and how did you research it?
I do have lucid dreams. I know I’m dreaming while I’m in my dreams, but I’ve yet to figure out how to manipulate my dream universe. I need to work on that! I did a lot of online research and book research. I’m a librarian, so I’ve got a lot of great resources. 😉 And one secret I’ll confess…that part in the book where Trinity meets real people in her dreams before she meets them in person…I used to do that a lot back when I was in college. I don’t as much now, but I still get that annoying feeling of “Don’t I know you?”
 
What of the characters in Sleepless would you most like to meet? Why?
Trinity and Coral. They’ve got such a snappy rapport and funny friendship. I think they’d be fun to hang out with. As for Dan, I already hang out with him. He’s based on my husband. Aren’t I lucky? We were high school sweethearts. I’ve been with him since I was seventeen.   
  
If a movie were to be made based on Sleepless, who would you like to see cast in the parts of the characters?
Ooh, I’ve already cast this in my mind. I’ve always seen Trinity as a Amy Lee.

 
Dan is played by Matt Dallas from Kyle XY.

And the villain is Peter Firth‘s serial killer character in White Angel. Is the dude scary looking or what?

And I just added Renee Olstead as Coral after watching her in Secret Life of an American Teen.

Finally, what advice do you have for your teen readers?

 
One thing I’d like readers to know is that everyone feels different, but it’s often the things that set us apart that make us stand out. I’ve realized I unconsciously put a running theme in both Sleepless and Don’t Mind Me, my short story in Breaking Up Is Hard To Do–Learn to accept who you are, embrace what makes you you, and you’ll feel empowered.

And as someone who took a loooong time to reach her dreams…never, ever give up!

Thanks Terri!
4 Responses to "Terri Clark Interview"

OHH I love Matt Dallas’ picture, so cute! And aww (!) that’s so sweet how her husband was her high school sweetheart!

Loved the interview and great questions! 😀

Isn’t Matt Dallas a hottie? Those eyes! I can’t wait for Kyle XY to return.

Oh yes he is!! I can’t wait until Kyle XY returns too! I thought it was suppose to premiere in June, like the previous 2 seasons.

This interview was amazing thanks for ll the perfect questions

Leave a Reply

Categories

