Harmony Book Reviews

Reviewer Interview: Read, Read, Read

Posted on: September 27, 2008

Well, I realize I didn’t post one last week but here’s one for you now. Today, I’ve been joined by Chelsie of Read, Read, Read (also known as bookloverreviews), who you can tell really loves what she does, not only by the work she puts into her blog but also by the thought you know she put into these answers. So keep reading to learn more about the girl behind the blog!

———–

How long have you been reviewing? What made you decide to become a teen book reviewer?

Technically, I’ve been reviewing since I was in 8th grade, so 14. But that was only Amazon reviews. I’ve had a blog since March, so for five months. Before that, I had an actual website for about 2 months, but that didn’t work too well.

And initially when I started reviewing, it was just for fun, but then I just loved the idea of being a part of such a fun group of people. Plus to be honest the free books don’t hurt either =P


What do you think is the best feature you run on your blog? What do you think people enjoy most about it?

Well I’d like to say my new feature, the Inte(Re)view, but I’ve only done one so I’m not sure how successful it will be. But I also think that maybe people like my review style and the mix between reviews and personal-ish entries? I suppose it gives it a more real feel to it. But I’m not sure, I’m not good at complimenting myself…

 
Is there a specific way you run your blog? Do you have to be in a certain chair to write reviews? What, if anything, are you trying to accomplish by running your blog?

I run my blog exactly how I want… I’ve seen other reviewers make schedules for when they post things, and that’s a great way to do it but I couldn’t even begin to pre-plan what I want to blog about. For me, it’s pretty random.

I used to have my special computer chair that I wrote everything in, but then I got kicked off of my parent’s computer, so I’m stuck in this not-so-comfy one… but I’ve gotten used to it.

As far as what I want to accomplish… I just like giving recommendations. I’m trying to share my opinion, so if someone is wondering, “Hmm, will I like that book?” they’ll be able to see if I liked it or not, and if I did or didn’t they’ll know what was good or bad about it. I also run my blog for myself… it makes me feel good to be part of the book blogging world, and it also makes me feel good to see what other people have to say about my reviews, and to hear other opinions.

 
In your opinion, what is the one thing that makes a book perfect?

That new book smell… c’mon, don’t even try to tell me you’ve never opened a book up and just stuck your nose in it. =D

Actually, I don’t really think there’s any one thing that makes a book perfect. It’s a combination between good writing, good characters, good description, and relatability. Then again, I have never found a perfect book (although there have been some that have come close) so it’d be hard of me to answer this question really well.

 
Any advice for authors trying to attract the attention of reviewers?

1. Blog. Stop by our blog and say hi. Comment on a review, leave a message in the chatbox, whatever. Make your presence known.

2. Email. Want us to review a book? Email your request. I think everyone pretty much as at least one email (I know I actually have four or five…) that they can be contacted at.

3. MySpace. In my opinion, it’s an amazing phenomenon that came along and now everyone is using it to network and talk. All authors should have one, to connect with reviewers and readers, and even other authors. Add us on MySpace, send us a message or comment… whichever.

Those are three that I can think of, but all you really have to do is make your presence known somehow. And don’t be afraid to mention your book or ask us to read it. Even if you don’t hand out review copies right and left, if someone asks me to read their book, I’d be likely to at least consider it.

 
What about for teens (or adults) that want to start their own book review blog. What’s the first thing they should do?

First thing, of course, would be to read and review the books. Then, you can start your blog, and then talk to other reviewers. Ask them to be on their blogroll or to check out your blog, and just make a name for yourself. Every reviewer I know is extremely nice, so of course you’d be accepted into the blogging world, but for sure make sure your blog isn’t a mess, and make sure you find an audience.

But most important, just have fun with your blog. Even if you don’t get tons of comments, or if it doesn’t seem like anyone reads it, if you get too worked up about it, it just isn’t fun anymore. Read and review for yourself, and don’t feel like you have to make your blog a certain way to get readers. As long as you’re having fun and reviewing honestly, you’ll be sure to get readers.

 
Okay, we all have our favorite books. What are five of yours? Has there ever been a book that has changed or greatly affected your life in someway? What about authors?

Five books:
1. Dreamland by Sarah Dessen
2. Sweethearts by Sara Zarr
3. My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult
4. Chasing Windmills by Catherine Ryan Hyde
5. Second Helpings by Megan McCafferty (not to be confused with the other three books in the series… this one will always be my favorite 😀 )

A book that changed or affected my life? Um, none really come to mind as being too life-changing. This Lullaby by Sarah Dessen I suppose, because it was basically the first real young adult book I read and at the time it seemed to really relate to my life (although looking back, I don’t see how). Dreamland because it scared me, and really really made me think. Sweethearts for almost the same reason as Dreamland.

And then if I wanted to be really funny, I could say the children’s book Caps for Sale by Esphyr Slobodkina because my absolute favorite teacher gave it to me at the end of 1st grade, and because when I moved I made my childhood love write his phone number in the back of it. =D

And then my absolute favorite author, if you can’t guess, is Sarah Dessen. Followed by Sara Zarr. And then there are way too many more to name. But the two I mentioned are absolutely amazing.

 
If you could plan a party anywhere in the world and invite anyone you wanted, who would be there? Authors? Musicians? Fictional characters (I didn’t say they had to exist)? Where would it be? Describe the event.

A party?! Oh gosh. If I thought my other answers were long, this is going to take forever.

Who: Me, of course. My three closest friends. Every author who wants to come, but hopefully all of my favorites. And then all the members of Nickelback, but most importantly Chad Kroeger, because I’m gonna need someone there who can sing. And then the Spice Girls, all the members of NSYNC, and then Christian Alexanda, Matt Nathanson, Marc Anthony, David Archuleta, Kylie Minogue, and Chris Daughtry. And then I’d invite Christian Siriano from last season’s Project Runway.

Fictional Characters… Dexter from This Lullaby. Cameron from Sweethearts (oh, he would not get away from me without answering all my questions). Um… There’s probably more, but my mind isn’t working the way it should right now.

What: A party, of course, complete with musical guests and diamonds that everyone is allowed to wear (like in How to Lose a Guy in Ten Days) and free books… But there’s no drinking at my party. That’s not cool for me….

When: Next Saturday… (although I’m not sure when exactly this is going to be posted, so we’ll just say August 30th.)

Where: The Grand Hotel, Mackinac Island, Michigan. I saw this hotel in the movie Somewhere in Time (it’s older, but I really liked it) and I fell in love with it.

Why: Well, because the 30th is my birthday =D Sweet 16!

 
Name three of your favorite animals, bands/singers, T.V. shows, and movies.

Animals:
1. Wolf. (I read Julie of the Wolves when I was younger. Those books = <333)
2. Fish. So easy to take care of.
3. Dogs/Puppies. So cute!

Bands/Singers:
1. Nickelback
2. Daughtry
3. Seether
(Unfair question, since I have so many more. Don’t judge me by what I put down, because I listen to a lot more variety than that.)

T.V. Shows:
1. Project Runway
2. American Idol
3. Make Me a Supermodel
(I have an obsession with fashion shows, although I’m a jeans and t-shirt kind of girl)

Movies:
1. The Lion King (always going to be my favorite)
2. 21
3. The Butterfly Effect
(Eek, another unfair question… =P)

 
And now, ask yourself a question and answer it. (Can you tell how original I’m being?)
Q: What’s the stupidest thing you’ve done in the past week?
A: Two things. First, I left my purse in the movie theater, and didn’t notice it until three days later. Second, today I left three of my books (including the 2 I was planning on reading next) behind the desk at the library I work at. *smacks self* D’oh!
1 Response to "Reviewer Interview: Read, Read, Read"

Wow, I really was quite lengthy in my answers… I don’t blame anyone for not commenting, I wrote so much! Who has time to read that much?

=P

Thanks for posting this, Harmony! You rock!

-Chelsie-

Leave a Reply

Categories

