Harmony Book Reviews

Random Somethings From An Author

Posted on: September 1, 2008

As a conclusion to all the things we’ve done this month, Melissa Walker has agreed to give us a little insight on some things we might not know about her, including some of her favorite things. Enjoy and don’t forget to comment!

Favorites:
Disclaimer: These can change, hour by hour. Right now it is Monday at
11:12AM Eastern time. And these answers are totally true, for now.

Magazine – Still ELLEgirl, even though it no longer exists.
Website – I really like The Sartorialist
(http://www.thesartorialist.blogspot.com/)–great style shots.
Blog – My friends are probably my favorites. It’s cool to keep up with
peoples’ lives from afar. But among public blogs I really love Maureen
Johnson’s, Meg Cabot‘s and Sarah Dessen’s.
Food – Unhealthy: Cheese fries dipped in Ranch. Healthy(ish): Thai mango salad.
Resturant – Pyewacket, a Chapel Hill staple that closed a few years ago. Sadly.
Drink – Coke. I love it. Not diet.
Store – La Redoute, the French H&M
Fall Fashion Trend – Is it really cheesy if I say “violet on the
runway
“? Purple is HUGE for fall and I love it.
Author – Not fair to ask me to pick just one! If I had to, though,
Judy Blume has had the biggest affect on me.
BookGone with the Wind. I read it at least once a year. It’s epic.
Movie – It might be Goonies. I just love that one. I had the BIGGEST
crush on Sean Astin (pre-Hobbit role!)
Actor/Actress – I’m semi-obsessed with Michael Cera right now. And I
also adore Ginnifer Goodwin.
Song – Of all time, it might be “In Your Eyes” by Peter Gabriel. That
one scene in SAY ANYTHING (John Cusack with stereo overhead blasting
outside of Ione Skye’s window) has my heart for life.
Singer/Band – I’ve got a Rihanna thing right now.

Would You Rather…


Keep writing Violet books or write other books? Hard one! Both? But if
I have to choose one, I guess I’d say other books because it’s less
limiting.

Meet Stephenie Meyer or J.K. Rowling?
I haven’t finished either of their series! Is that awful? I just
finished NEW MOON this morning, so I guess I’m in a Stephenie Meyer
mood
today.

Meet a character from your book or someone else’s?
Someone else’s! What if my character wasn’t what I expected? That
would be heartbreaking.

Write tons of books of Violet fame or write just one book of Harry
Potter/Twilight fame?

Well, if I had to stop writing after just one book of that big fame,
I’d choose Violet’s level. Writing is what I do!

Have your books turned into a movie you have no control over or not
turned into a movie?
The latter. Movies are COOL. And besides, even if they changed lots of
things, it would still drive more people to read the book, which is
all mine.

Random Questions:
If you weren’t an author, what would you be doing?
I’d be a magazine editor again. I still do that sometimes, and it’s a
great job too.

What’s the craziest thing you’ve ever done?
Hmmm… I don’t know if I should reveal this. I’ll say that the
craziest thing I’ve ever done professionally is to cover the Miss
Hawaiian Tropic International pageant in Las Vegas. It was NUTS. And
Joey Fatone was judging.

If you could meet any of your characters, who would it be and why?
I’d like to meet Veronica. She intrigues me. There are a lot of layers
to her that we haven’t seen.

Imagine that you are throwing a huge party. You can invite anyone,
from authors to musicians to fictional characters. Who do you invite?
What music is playing? What will you do? Where will it be?

This is way too hard for a morning answer. Let’s just say there would
be a fashion show starring book characters–some Sarah Dessen girls,
Stephenie Meyer boys and a JK Rowling wizard designer. I’d love to
hear who else people think should star in the fashion show. How cool
would this be?!

Thanks for having me! I love the Would You Rather format.

XO,
MW

5 Responses to "Random Somethings From An Author"

Haha, I liked this. The questions were interesting. I would love to read more like this.

🙂

That was very entertaining!

Great questions, Harmony! I loved reading Melissa’s answers!

Cheers~

This is a great questionnaire! Me and Melissa actually have quite a bit in common (besides our name). ELLEgirl was always my favorite teen mag and I was so upset when they stopped making it. Ginnifer Goodwin is an amazing actress and highly underrated. I love that purple is the color for fall!!

ooh great answers, but i think i’d rather meet j.k rowling hehe : )

Leave a Reply

Categories

