Harmony Book Reviews

Guest Reviewer Blog: The Page Flipper

Posted on: August 22, 2008

Chelsea, from The Page Flipper, was one of the very first reviewers I ever contacted. To this day, she’s still one of the first reviewers I email when I have a question about anything and she’s usually the first to answer. Besides being an awesome friend, she’s a great reviewer. She recently went from having a blog to having a website and even though she took a hiatus, she’s back and still as reviewer-awesome as always. Lucky for us, she’s agreed to do a guest blog.

—-

Hi everybody! Chelsea here, from thepageflipper.com. Thanks, Harmony, for having me to guest blog.

I decided to talk about characters today. Because, to me, characters are what make a book. The plot is obviously important, but if you don’t have good, original characters to act it out, it really doesn’t matter what goes on.

One of my favorite characters is Atticus Finch from To Kill a Mockingbird. Aside from being an intelligent, funny, and lovable father, he’s one of the bravest characters I’ve ever read about. He fights for what he believes in, no matter the consequences. And what he believed in was justice.

Another favorite character is Jacky from the Bloody Jack series by L.A. Meyer. If you haven’t read them, you honestly need to. She’s adventurous, smart, daring, and bold. Honestly, I wish I could be more like her. In a time where girls were expected to be civil ladies, Jacky took a different route and did what she wanted, simply being herself.

And I can’t not mention Chloe from Becoming Chloe by Catherine Ryan Hyde. She was so childlike, but you could tell she had an intense wisdom and kindness about her, despite everything bad she’s seen in the world.

Alaska from Looking for Alaska by John Green is another one that shines out of the pages. She loved books and laughing and danger. Most of her was a mystery, but it was a type of mystery that made her all the more intriguing.

What are some of your favorite characters?

Well, everyone, there ya have it. Leave a comment telling us who YOUR favorite characters are, along with your email address and one random commenter will recieve an envelope full of assorted bookmarks and other small promotional items from authors!

16 Responses to "Guest Reviewer Blog: The Page Flipper"

nice interview, some of my favorite characters are charlie from the perks of being a wallflower by stephen chbosky–i love him i felt so bad for him in the beginning of the book then soo darn happy for the guy near the end, still kinda sad for what he went through though but he had his family and friends in the end and that’s all that mattered
peter from peter pan by j.m barrie-how can anyone not love peter?! he’s the best kid that will never grow up and i love him for that and the fact that he can fly and lives in such a wonderful place. it makes me wish to be like that as impossible as it may be but i like my life and wouldn’t be able to live without my mommy : )
homer wells from the cider house rules by john irving-i adore homer, poor poor homer who had to go through so many hardships throughout his life. i loved that he was so intelligent, brave, and the relationships he had with others.
harry potter!! from the harry potter series by j.k rowling of course–i love his character so much! he’s so lovable, brave, amazing, intelligent, magiclal, and everything you could ever ask of a wizard!

My favorite character would be Elizabeth from Pride & Prejudice. She was funny, headstrong, and wasn’t afraid to tell you what she thought of you. I also like Cesca from La Vida Vampire. She’s humorous, headstrong, she cares for others and she’s unique.

I loved Alaska, too. Completely understand why Pudge was in love with her–and that’s saying something, as I am not a lesbian 🙂 She’s my favorite John Green character.

Great guest blog, Chelsea, mi ami!

AW, I love Chelsea. Great picks as well. Those are some amazing characters…the only one I don’t know is Jacky.

As for characters I like…well, Alaska and Chloe are amazing like Chelsea already said.

I’m a huge fan of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and I did love and relate to Charlie in certain ways. Patrick was a great characters as well from that novel.

I’m a huge Harry Potter fan, and I really loved Luna Lovegood. She’s a bit odd and quirky, but I am too, and I love that she’s okay with being herself no matter what. That’s amazing.

So those are a couple…I’m sure I could think of a TON more, but I don’t want to go on and on…

OH WAIT! Two more…Johnny and Ponyboy from The Outsiders. I love that book, and they have some other amazing characters, but Johnny is just so brave and Ponyboy is a lot like me in certain ways…very dreamy and such. I love them both.

-Lauren

Same here, Harmony, about being one of the first interviews I contacted… she’s too awesome =D And extremely helpful.

Anyways, about characters… I haven’t read To Kill a Mockingbird in such a long time, I probably should pick it up and read it again. It’ll probably have more of an effect on me now, since I’ve read it once and know what to expect, and also because I’m older and (hopefully) wiser.

And as far as favorite characters go, I have two.

Female: Remy Starr from This Lullaby. She’s strong and tough and opinionated and confident, but she’s still incredibly flawed, which I think is amazing…

Male: Cameron whatshisname from Sweethearts. He was just so INTERESTING to me. You really have no idea… I loved his character and I want to know more more more!

i love both of yall blogs/pages!! thank you for helping me with the great reviews, and contests, and just knowing there is other readres like me out there

ty!

i like nadia of kelley armstrong new series
exit stradgery

Yay Chelsea! Isn’t she great?

My favorite characters all-time would have to be Elizabeth from Pride and Prejudice and Nina from Every Crooked Pot.

Aw, thanks for the flattering comments, guys! My head just expanded about tenfold.

For those who said Elizabeth, I CANT BELIEVE I DIDN’T ADD HER. She’s one of my favorites, too. Bookish and witty.

And Lauren, JOHNNY! I just read The Outsiders for the first time like two weeks ago, but it was fantastic. I would have added him if I’d have thought of it. But I have lack of thought way too often.

Thanks, Harmony, for the compliments, and for letting me guest blog! =]

Favorite characters…. on a whim… right now I wanna say Diana from the Luxe. I really like her, she was bright witty and not a fool.

The monster Frankenstein, from the actual book Frankenstein by Shelley… ummm… I know I can’t think of any good ones right now… school’s made me brain dead.

If we’re going on manga, Ren and Kyoko would be my favorites for sure. Kyoko is just crazy but with an amazing willpower and skill… and Ren is just a big masking lie, but he’s fun to watch.

;}

Hmm… I really like Persephone Leland from Bewitching Season and Hermione Granger. They both love books! But I also like characters like Max from Maximum Ride and of course, the characters in my own writing.

One of my favorites from my writing is this boy (just came up with him, so he doesn’t have a name yet, so let’s call him Tom). Tom is a loyal, klutzy, pseudo-technopath from a medieval/science fiction/supernatural parallel world.

Then there’s Avacia, a masked teen vigilante (actually an heiress who’s father is almost always away on business) in a world with an alternate history. Her world had three world wars, all in the 19th century, and has become somewhat retrofuturistic (ray guns, moon colonies, etc.) Did I mention that her story takes place in 1921?

(c) Characters and stories copyright to Paradox

My favourite character has to be Edward Cullen from the Twilight series. I love the way he is described and the person he is. If only he were real… *sigh*

I’ve never read any of those books, but my teacher said today Atticus was her favorite character from To Kill a Mockingbird.

my favorite characters: Vlad Tod from Heather Brewer’s Chronicles of Vladimir Tod, Bobby from the Pendragon series, the Emperor of San Francisco from three of Christopher Moore’s books, and Iggy from Maximum Ride by James Patterson.
Vlad Tod because he’s the coolest half-vampire ever, Bobby and the Emperor because they’re hilarious, and Iggy is also very funny when he and the Gasman are together plotting stuff (coughexplosivescough). ha-ha

That was very fun indeed 🙂

hylianvampire @ hotmail . com

i love scarlett o hera from gone with the wind and elizabeth bennet from pride and prejudice because they are both strong characters!

I agree! Yay to the person above who posted about Peter! You just are never going to do better than Peter Pan. I believe that story was real, somewhere, in some dimension,and anything after that pales in comparison. Peter was in a class all his own.

I agree that the characters really flesh out a storyline.. and you can’t get any better for ‘acting out’ scenes than Rowan of the Wood, by Christine and Ethan Rose. Again, this book had me longing to run to the woods and act the scenes out. They show the magic of the woods.

Their traveling caravan is on the road now , displaying scenes from the book, and it is the only time I have seen authors go to the extent of painting a trailer with their characters and adding banners to the top! Check this all out at RowanoftheWood.com and
ChristineandEthanRose.com.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Megan: Just read LAST CHRISTMAS. I would SOOO reccomend it to people who havent even read the private series. It is soo good.The suspense was kiling me all t
  • Lola: Oh my gosh! i just finished it....i googled the song for i had never herd it before......may have been a mistake because it is in my head for taciturn
  • mais: heeeyyyy.... can anyonePLEASE give me the link or even send me the copy of the eighth book(revelation on my email because i cant find it anywhere for

Categories

