Harmony Book Reviews

Dream Girl by Lauren Mechling

Posted on: August 4, 2008

Dream Girl

Claire Voyante has been having strange visions ever since she can remember. But the similarity between her name and her talents is purely coincidental. The name is French, and unlike the psychics on TV, she can’t solve crimes or talk to the dead. Whenever Claire follows her hunches, she comes up empty—or ends up in pretty awkward situations.

 

But that all changes on Claire’s 15th birthday, when her grandmother, Kiki—former socialite, fashion icon, and permanent fixture at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel—gives her something a little more extraordinary than one of her old cocktail dresses: a strange black-and-white onyx cameo on a gold chain. It’s not long before Claire’s world becomes a whole lot clearer. And a whole lot more dangerous.

(Summary from Amazon)

Dream Girl is the first book I’ve read with a teen psychic as the protagonist. I was sure what to expect so when I was swept off of my feet with a novel about romance, visions, action, and so much more, I was surprised. The plot of Dream Girl involves so many things that it’s hard to believe it all fits in between the few hundred pages it does. Lauren Mechling has a way with words and she makes that happen, keeping the plot fast-paced and never bogging the read down with details.

I enjoyed Dream Girl and encourage you to pick it up. I’ll be awaiting any forthcoming novels Lauren Mechling may have.

10 Responses to "Dream Girl by Lauren Mechling"

I have this book in my TBR pile, as you know, but my friend Lauren is going to be reviewing it so I have no idea when I’ll get around to it.

Great review- I’ve been hearing lots of great things about this book and am looking forward to reading it. Also, I saw an interview with Lauren Mechling and she’s working on a sequel to it! 🙂

Wow! Sounds amazing. I love books with people that have powers and whatnot, but it sounds like it’s a lot more then that and I must say, it sounds awesome.

-Lauren

I hope this book is good. I was a little reluctant at first to read it, but i will give it a try.

wow i had never heard of this book before, i’ll definitely read it soon it seems really interesting, i have never read any books about the protagonist being psychic can’t wait to get around to it, and from what you say it seems really good even for a short-ish read i love books with action and romance anything else is a plus : )

I’m going to be reading this book really soon and am looking forward to it a lot. Besides the fact that the plot sounds cool, the cover is beautiful. 🙂 Great review!

Thanks for sharing your review of this book, but I do not read book about psychics, don’t much believe in them or what they do, but your review does make it sound interesting, thanks for sharing!

Thank you for the review – this is going on my must-read list! I hope I can find an English copy in Germany.

I REALLY want to read this book! I love anything where characters have some sort of psychic power or there is anything paranormal going on. I am wondering what the significance of the cameo is…

I’ve never heard of this (or seen it on the store shelves). But it sounds terribly interesting–and the cover is rather striking! I thought it was a barbie though at first because she is so pale and blond…

I’m put off by the cover it just isn’t my thing (i know shallow) but your review makes it seem like a book I would read.
Thanks

Leave a Reply

  • Megan: Just read LAST CHRISTMAS. I would SOOO reccomend it to people who havent even read the private series. It is soo good.The suspense was kiling me all t
  • Lola: Oh my gosh! i just finished it....i googled the song for i had never herd it before......may have been a mistake because it is in my head for taciturn
  • mais: heeeyyyy.... can anyonePLEASE give me the link or even send me the copy of the eighth book(revelation on my email because i cant find it anywhere for

Categories

