Harmony Book Reviews

The Straight Road to Kylie by Nico Medina

Posted on: August 2, 2008

The Straight Road to Kylie

 Life is fabulous for Jonathan Parish.

He’s seventeen, out and proud, and ready to party through senior year with his posse of best girlfriends. But the year starts off with the wrong kind of bang when Jonathan — in an inebriated lapse of judgment — sleeps with a friend of his…a girl friend!

When word gets around that hot-but-previously-unavailable Jonathan might be on the market, the school’s It girl approaches him with a proposal: pretend to be her boyfriend, and achieve popularity like he’s never known. But popularity isn’t what Jonathan wants. And suddenly, going back into the closet becomes Jonathan’s only way to get what he’s after — a trip to see Kylie Minogue.

(Summary from Amazon)

The Straight Road to Kylie is one of the most recent and best gay teen books I’ve read. Everything about it seemed to capture and represent Jonathan’s life perfectly and made it seem real. To be honest, I couldn’t relate to the characters in many ways because I’m not eighteen or gay and I definitely don’t host parties and rarely even go to them but as I was reading this, I felt like I was there, partying with Jonathan and his friends. The prose and characterizations make it seem that real.

I must say that after reading this a few of my opinions have changed, including those on pop goddess, Kylie Minogue, who I now worship.                                         

11 Responses to "The Straight Road to Kylie by Nico Medina"

That is such a great concept for a book. You see so many books/movies about straights pretending to be gay these days that it actually seems kind of of original. Oh, and love Kylie!

See, I told you Kylie was awesome! 🙂

Glad you liked the book- great review!!

this books seems good i hadn’t heard of it i’ll add it to my tbr list hehe i need to hurry and read more so i can get rid of some from that list : )

Nice review. I haven’t read any of Nico’s books yet, but I really want too. Good to know you enjoyed the book. I need to check it out soon it seems…

Lauren

I love Kylie Minogue!!! She rocks! Sounds like an interesting book! 🙂

never read this before, but it sounds good

Love the cover! I have to admit, I haven’t really read anything along these lines, but this sounds intriguing, and I’d most defintely be willing to check it! Thanks for bringing it to my attention!

I haven’t heard of this book until now but from your review it sounds really great! I love gay teen books so I’m sure I’ll love this one when I get around to reading it. Thanks for the great review!

Oh and I love the cover. Looking at guys’ backsides is fun 😉

-Breanna

Uh oh, sounds like a juicy read, and i love it!

Sounds like a cute read. I will be adding it to my to-read list. 🙂

This is a bit different from most GLBT books, which usually try to hard and force a bunch of preachy tolerance messages down our throats without really having much else of a story. Having GLBT people as normal characters in a book seems like a better way to help people accept them as just another person.

Leave a Reply

  • Megan: Just read LAST CHRISTMAS. I would SOOO reccomend it to people who havent even read the private series. It is soo good.The suspense was kiling me all t
  • Lola: Oh my gosh! i just finished it....i googled the song for i had never herd it before......may have been a mistake because it is in my head for taciturn
  • mais: heeeyyyy.... can anyonePLEASE give me the link or even send me the copy of the eighth book(revelation on my email because i cant find it anywhere for

Categories

