Harmony Book Reviews

Undone by Brooke Taylor

Posted on: July 26, 2008

 

Undone

 Kori Kitzler is the “dark angel” of the eighth grade. Serena Moore is just your average eigth grader. When Kori tells Serena that they are more alike than she thinks, Serena is instantly intriuged. What could she and bad-girl Kori possible have in common?

Fast forward to years to their sophmore year and they’re now best friends.They tell each other everything and Serena has turned into Kori’s twin. They look alike and seem to act alike. Serena is working her hardest are becoming a tough, fearless, and outspoken teenager, just like Kori.

But before that can happen, fate yanks Kori away in a tragic accident, leaving Serena with a list of five things she wanted to do. As Serena tries to complete those five things, she learns for the first time how alike they really are but she also learns that there were some secrets Kori had been hiding.

When I first started Undone, I was positive I wouldn’t like it. I figured that after it mentioned lesbian sex, getting high, and being arrested on the first two pages that it was going to be some graphic and sex-filled book about drugs and sex. But it wasn’t. It never even came close to being that. What it was, however, was a novel about friendship, love, and figuring out just who you are. I loved it.

Everything about this was great. The characterization was exactly right, the plot completely believable, and the prose just kept the reader intrigued. I couldn’t wait to find out how deep the relationship between Serena and Kori really was and I was on the edge of my seat every time Kori did something daring. At one point, I was even close to tears. None of those things easily happen while I’m reading which just goes to prove how much I loved this book.

I definitely recommend reading this book when you get the chance. It’ll blow you away. However, if you’re under the age of 14 or are easily offended, you may not want to read this. (Then again, I’m under 14 and it blew me away so just use your own judgement.) 

7 Responses to "Undone by Brooke Taylor"

Nice review! This is definitely a book that I’ve been wanting to read for awhile. It sounds intense and just amazing….definitely something I would enjoy. 🙂
-Lauren

Haha I read this one when I was still fourteen. Then again, I’m incredibly liberal. I can see where some people would have a problem with some of the content — hell, some people have a problem with READY OR NOT by Meg Cabot, which, judging by the standard of edgy in YA lit nowadays, is rather tame. Anyhow, I loved this one, too! 🙂

I just finished this book last night and absolutely loved it- I’ll be posting my review tonight. Great review!! 🙂

Thanks so much for the great review Harmony! I’m so glad you kept reading after the first page! ~Brooke

I just finished the book like an hour ago. At first i didn’t think i’d be able to get into it, then next thing you know i’m like sucked in. I loved how relate-able the characters were and i love how she made them sound like real teens. The sex, drugs, and sneaking out. I’m 17, so i should know. great book.

[…] Undone by Brooke Taylor – I recently reread this book. Then, I reread it the next night. Granted, I was only reading my favorite parts (which are about 80% of the book) but it reminded me how much I adored this book when I first read it. The characters were realistic, the plot original, and it was just an all-around great book. For me info, see my review here. […]

My friend Rachel lent me this book and I thought, eh…looks good. Sure I’ll read it!
Well I was captivated immediately and I cried a lot because it reminded me of my relationship with my best friend, Anya. She’s like a sister to me and I think this book was just about as close as it comes to describing the two of us. Her being Kori, me as Serina. Anyway, this book is fantastic! I would definitely recomend it to anyone looking for an amazing story about friendship and possibly a good cry.

Leave a Reply

Categories

