Harmony Book Reviews

The Host by Stephenie Meyer

Posted on: June 6, 2008

Cover ImageThis is one of those super-popular books that I’m not even going to try to review. But I do have some thoughts on it. There’s going to be some spoilers so if you haven’t read this yet, I probably wouldn’t read farther.

 

——

First off, I was thisclose to putting this book down. The first couple chapters were confusing and by the time they were unconfusing, the book dragged. It wasn’t until atleast 150 pages into the book that it started picking up. Most likely, if I hadn’t been such a fan of Stephenie and read a couple awesome reviews, I would’ve stopped at about page 50. But I didn’t. I kept going. And boy, I’m glad I did.  After it got past the boring parts, this book was AMAZING. I loved how Jared acted toward Melanie (I’m gonna say Melanie because even though it was technically Wanderer at that time, it was still Melanie) because it made so much sense that he’d hate her so much for taking his girlfriend. And Jamie… That boy stole my heart. And he’s about my age. Do ya think Stephenie will make him real for me? He was so sweet and I felt TERRIBLE for him. Absolutely terrible. Imagine what it’d be like to lose your sister that had raised you and then to have someone in her body, whom you’re supposed to HATE  come back. 

All of the other characters were so real too. Ian and Kyle and Jeb and Doc and all those other guys.  And Melanie/Wanda were awesome. I loved how they were always going back and forth in their head. It was just so..cool. The way it was written was great too. I could seriously feel their pain over Jared and Jamie and I got how Wanda was torn between Jared and Ian. It was all so..wow. The only thing is, I KNEW she was gonna end up coming back. I could tell that even before the plan was fully developed that Melanie and Ian weren’t going to let her just disappear. But whatever. It was still AWESOME.

Is that a long of enough rant for all you guys? Like I said, after I got past the boring parts, I freaking LOVED this book. And it deserves to be discussed. So what did you guys think of it?

4 Responses to "The Host by Stephenie Meyer"

I agree totally with your review. The beginning was rather slow which was a little weird for Stephenie but the book completely turned around, and as you said, I freaking LOVED this book! 😀

I LOVED this book! You’re right about the first few chapters. Wanda’s old life was just so… predictable. Normal. But anyway. It was awesome!!!!
Ten stars!

I totally agree with the beginning of the book, it was really confusing and ya some what boring i totally love Stephenie Meyer so i did not put it down. After those confusing chapters the book was amazing i could not put it down took me a very short time to finish it. During the beginning i wanted Melanie to have her own body and be happy with Jared but later i realize that i loved Wanda too so i did thought she was going to dye and i cried lol when i realize she had her own body i thought it was great because she and Ian could be happy together. The ending was totally weird but it totally meant that there was going to be a second. I loved this book so much and people should read it because it rocks..
This book is amazing.

I think that I am in such a minority. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed Twilight (though my enjoyment of the series diminished as the series went on) and was highly interested in The Host’s premise, but for me it just fell flat and stayed flat. I suppose I just expecting a new level of writing since it was technically a mainstream fiction, not a young adult fiction. My friend, who lent me her copy, loved it as did two of our other friends. My sister loved it. Heck my MOM loved it. When I said it didn’t so anything for me they all thought I had taken a plunge off a cliff!

Leave a Reply

Categories

