Harmony Book Reviews

Selling and Buying Books

Posted on: February 13, 2008

So I was just going through my books and realized that since I’m moving into a much smaller room, I need to get rid of some of them. A lot of them really. I refuse to get rid of my horse books (mainly Phantom Stallion and Heartland), along with any books that I’m reading now that are in series and I don’t have the rest of them or ones that I’m pretty sure I’ll read it again (Uglies, Principles of Love, Secrets of my Hollywood Life, etc). Aside from that, I’ve decided that any books I have but haven’t rid in a year or ones that I’ve read but I don’t feel the need to reread it, have to go. The thing is, I don’t want to just put them in a box for our yardsale because no one really looks at them and the library won’t take them because most aren’t hardcovers. So, my question is, what do you do with books you want to get rid of? I’d really like to get some money for them (not a lot, just some), so that I can buy more books but I’m not sure where/how.  Any suggestions would be SO helpful.

Also, what about buying books? I obviously go to the book store once in a while but the only real bookstore is about an hour away so when I go, I usually spend over $100 which my dad doesn’t like. I have no problem with getting used books but I don’t want to spend the same amount for a used book as I would for a new book which is what a lot sites want.

Any suggestions for anything, would be awesome.

 I’ve got some major things coming soon, that I’m pretty sure you guys will like.

3 Responses to "Selling and Buying Books"

you can always trade or sell your books 🙂
i like to trade mine on bookmooch, or sometimes i trade with other reviewers.

Hey,

There’s a bunch of us reviewers who have started our own little “trading ring” of books, and we’d be more than happy to let you in, stir up the pot so to speak. You know Chelsea (The Page Flipper, her site is under my links)? She started it all, and she has a few other contacts besides me. I don’t trade books to very often because if they’re in good condition, I’ll offer them as giveaways to entice people to visit my site (I’m shameless, I know).

So anyway, email me or Chelsea to get the details of how the whole trading thing rolls and see if you’re interested.

~TCR

PS Yes, I got your contest entry (both of them). And the V-day contest counts as a “special contest” which we’re allowed to enter.

You won’t get any money for this, but I love BookMooch.com. It’s a site that let’s you trade books with other members. It’s really easy and I usually find a lot of great stuff there. The trick is to have a wishlist that is over a couple hundred books. If you don’t have enough books on your wishlist then you might not get that many trades.

I’ve been loving your blog, btw. 🙂

Leave a Reply

  • Megan: Just read LAST CHRISTMAS. I would SOOO reccomend it to people who havent even read the private series. It is soo good.The suspense was kiling me all t
  • Lola: Oh my gosh! i just finished it....i googled the song for i had never herd it before......may have been a mistake because it is in my head for taciturn
  • mais: heeeyyyy.... can anyonePLEASE give me the link or even send me the copy of the eighth book(revelation on my email because i cant find it anywhere for

Categories

