Harmony Book Reviews

Been Memed

Posted on: February 9, 2008

Which book do you irrationally cringe away from reading, despite seeing only positive reviews? Honestly?
Well, to be honest, I’d have to say Lord of the Rings, Eldest and the Warriors series, though I can’t say that all of those have only positive reviews. I’ve tried Eldest….Like 3 times but I can never get past chapter 3 or so because my one friend ruined it. Warriors…get to Chapter 2 of the first book.

If you could bring three characters to life for a social event (afternoon tea, a night of clubbing, perhaps a world cruise), who would they be and what would the event be?
Hmm. This is hard…. I’d have to say Jacob from the Twilight series, Tonks from Harry Potter, and, um…. Jonathan from Heart of Fire by Victoria Holmes. I want to show Jacob that other girls besides Bella (who totally belongs w/ Edward) are in love with him, and I want to talk to Tonks because she’s awesome and Jonathan is just amazing.


(Borrowing shamelessly from the Thursday Next series by Jasper Fforde): you are told you can’t die until you read the most boring novel on the planet. While this immortality is great for awhile, eventually you realize it’s past time to die. Which book would you expect to get you a nice grave?
I’d have to say Lord of the Rings. Just ugh. Or MAYBE Eldest. Not sure.

Come on, we’ve all been there. Which book have you pretended, or at least hinted, that you’ve read, when in fact you’ve been nowhere near it?
I’m really not sure. I think I’ve hinted I’ve read Eldest but I’m not sure.

As an addition to the last question, has there been a book that you really thought you had read, only to realize when you read a review about it/go to ‘reread’ it that you haven’t? Which book?
Don’t think it’s ever happened.


You’re interviewing for the post of Official Book Advisor to some VIP (who’s not a big reader). What’s the first book you’d recommend and why? (If you feel like you’d have to know the person, go ahead and personalize the VIP.)
Hmm, Twilight is a definite must but also Harry Potter and The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen.


A good fairy comes and grants you one wish: you will have perfect reading comprehension in the foreign language of your choice. Which language do you go with?
I really don’t know. French maybe? Or Spanish…

A mischievous fairy comes and says that you must choose one book that you will reread once a year for the rest of your life (you can read other books as well). Which book would you pick?
I love rereading books so it wouldn’t be that bad. I’d probably say Twilight or perhaps Just Listen? 

I know that the book blogging community, and its various challenges, have pushed my reading borders. What’s one bookish thing you ‘discovered’ from book blogging (maybe a new genre, or author, or new appreciation for cover art—anything)?
Hmm. Well, I’m pretty new to this but I’ve learned about a lot of new books, started reading faster, and found some awesome blogs.

That good fairy is back for one final visit. Now, she’s granting you your dream library! Describe it. Is everything leather bound? Is it full of first edition handovers? Pristine trade paperbacks? Perhaps a few favorite authors have inscribed their works? Go ahead—let your imagination run free.
I’d want ever YA books I’d ever read, all signed. I’d want a computer in there where I could order books that would automatically be added. It’d be round with a spiral staircase and a bunch of different seating places – chairs, couches, etc. I’d want it painted dark blue and light blue….. This is sounding great. Too bad it’ll never happen. 🙂

Anyone who hasn’t done it yet, feel free to take it.

On another note, I’ve recieved those books I ordered in the mail and read two of them already. I’ve got 3 author interviews planned, along with more book reviews coming ASAP.

1 Response to "Been Memed"

I’ve hinted at having read Eldest too.

I love The Lord of the Rings, though I do think that someone should take the time to create a lovely abridged version, as I think it could be quite popular. 😀

Leave a Reply

Categories

