Harmony Book Reviews

More Challenges

Posted on: February 2, 2008

I’ve decided to enter even more challenges. How I’m actually going to finish all of these, I’ve yet to figure out.

Anyway, the first is The 2k8 Challenge hosted at Teen Book Reviewer. Since I can pick any amount of new books to read by debut authors, I’m going to read 28 since that’s how many books are on the Class of 2k8. I’m really interested in most of them and I’ll substitute ones that I don’t want to read with others books not on the list.

The second is The Short Story Reading Challenge hosted at Kate’s Book Blog. I plan on reading between 6 and 10 short story collections during 2008. I don’t really have a list for this since I don’t usually read short stories so if you have any suggestions, please let me know.

 The third is Chunkster Challenge hosted at Think Pink. I have to read four books over 450 pages by December 20. I’m planning on reading Libba Bray’s greatest but I’m not sure what else is over 450 pages. The Golden Compass maybe? I’m not sure. I know the last few HP ones and New Moon are book I’ve read them all. I’ll construct a list later.

 The last is the Triple 8 Challenge. I’d LIKE to join in on this one but I’m still unsure. I’m not sure of the categories nor the books I’d read. If anyone has any ideas/suggestions/whatever PLEASE let me know.

This makes like 6 or so challenges in my first year of book reviewing. I’m really not sure how this is going to work. Since I can overlap most of the books into more than one challenge, that may slim the list down a little. I guess it doesn’t matter though since I usually buy that many books a year anyway.

So if anyone comes across any REALLY good challenges, let me know. I’ll be keeping my eyes open too.

5 Responses to "More Challenges"

I’m glad you’re participating in the 2k8 challenge! The triple 8 challenge is fun so far; there are so many possible categories! Some of mine are debut novels, books published at least 10 years ago (since I tend to focus on new releases), and non-fiction. As for short story collections (I’ve joined this challenge, too, and don’t read many short stories), How They Met by David Levithan is amazing.

Also, I hate to be nitpicky, but you posted the link to my main blog wrong–it’s Teen Book Review, not Teen Book Reviewer, and the address is http://teenbookreview.wordpress.com.

I’ll have a link up to this challenge post on my 2k8 Participants page ASAP!

Hey, thanks for entering the Class of 2k8 challenge! I hope you enjoy the books!

No idea if you’ve heard of it before, but A Novel Challenge lists just about every challenge that’s going on right now.

And I <a href=”http://inkmagic.blogspot.com/2008/01/evas-reading-meme.html” tagged you with a meme, if you’re interested in playing.

Not sure if this worked the first time:

Go to http://novelchallenges.blogspot.com/ for a list of just about every challenge that’s out there.

And I tagged you with a meme if you’re interested in playing:
http://inkmagic.blogspot.com/2008/01/evas-reading-meme.html

Thanks for entering the challenge! I hope you enjoy my classmates’ books!

M.P. Barker
A DIFFICULT BOY
Holiday House, April 15, 2008
http://www.mpbarker.net
http://www.classof2k8.com

Leave a Reply

Categories

