Harmony Book Reviews

Giving Up The V by Serena Robar

Posted on: August 3, 2009

Giving Up the V

Title: Giving Up The V

Author: Serena Robar

Rating: 7/10

Summary: (Taken from Amazon)

What’s So Wrong With Waiting

Spencer Davis just turned sixteen. But unlike most hormonal teenagers who seem obsessed with sex — like her entire crew of friends — Spencer just doesn’t get it. She’d rather wait for the right guy and the right moment. But that moment may be arriving sooner than she’d thought.

Enter Benjamin Hopkins, a new transfer student who seems to have his eyes on our V-card-carrying heroine. He’s gorgeous, funny, suave, athletic, and capable of making Spencer’s knees wobble with a single glance. Spencer has never felt this way about anyone before, but is Ben truly V-worthy?

My Thoughts: For me, this was honestly a “meh” book. It wasn’t horrible but it wasn’t mind-blowing either.

Spencer is a character I can relate to because I feel the same way as her on certain subjects. Her friends, however, were completely foreign to me. Her best friend was just…crazy. I found her actions completely mind-boggling and selfish and just…ridiculous. I’m guessing that, unfortunately, some people do act that way though. Most of the boys were slightly stereo-typical and annoying but also a bit realistic. Besides Spencer the only character I cared anything about was Zach.

The plot was interesting, mostly because of the crazy characters, but it was easy to figure out the ending beforehand.

Overall, I guess I would recommend this if you were looking for a book much less graphic than “Forever…” or “Anatomy of a Boyfriend”.

3 Responses to "Giving Up The V by Serena Robar"

Thanks for the review. 🙂

Stop by my blog for my 1st blogversary bash if you’d like!

I love this book. I want to read it ^^

I can’t wait to read this, it’ll be one of the next ones I read.

I didn’t like Anatomy Of A Boyfriend, I got it right around when it came out, and Dom just drove me nuts throughout the whole book 😛

Leave a comment


  • Megan: Just read LAST CHRISTMAS. I would SOOO reccomend it to people who havent even read the private series. It is soo good.The suspense was kiling me all t
  • Lola: Oh my gosh! i just finished it....i googled the song for i had never herd it before......may have been a mistake because it is in my head for taciturn
  • mais: heeeyyyy.... can anyonePLEASE give me the link or even send me the copy of the eighth book(revelation on my email because i cant find it anywhere for

Categories