Harmony Book Reviews

Leslie’s Journal by Allan Statton

Posted on: April 18, 2009

 Leslie's JournalTitle: Leslie’s Journal

Author: Allan Stratton

Rating: A

Good If… You’re a mature teen looking for a heartbreaking and eye-opening story.

Summary: (Taken from publisher’s site)

Leslie can’t seem to avoid trouble, whether it’s at school or at home. Just as life seems at its lowest, Jason McCready, the exceedingly cool new guy at school, enters her life.
Now Leslie is the envy of all the girls. But Jason’s appearance is deceiving –he is determined to control every aspect of Leslie’s life and he begins terrorizing her in unimaginable ways.
When a substitute teacher reads the private English-class journal in which Leslie reveals Jason’s abuse, Leslie is suddenly forced into hard choices and terrifying action to take back her life.

My Thoughts: Leslie’s Journal is one of those books that you have to put down and walk away from. It’s a vile story but one that needs to be told and be heard. Leslie’s Journal tells the story of an abusive relationship and tells it well, with emotion that will ring true in every teen’s ears, and give them no choice but to pass it along to their friends.

Leslie is a character that everyone can relate to in one way or another, whether it’s her vivid personality or the fact she falls for the wrong guy.  All of the adults in the book seemed wrapped up in their own problems and simply dismissed Leslie’s calls for help as childish drama, which is something that often seems to happen in real life, unfortunately, and I definitely think that all teens will be able to connect with that.  

I did not enjoy Leslie’s Journal – only a sick-minded person would enjoy a book about abuse – but it is a book that will stick with me forever.

5 Responses to "Leslie’s Journal by Allan Statton"

[...] Leslie’s Journal by Allan Stratton [...]

Sounds amazing and totally something I’d read!

I love the cover of this book. This book sounds like something I would love to read.

I have read this book. I like this book it teaches you what to do when a bad relationship come around.

I’m so moved to hear that my book will stick with you. Leslie is very dear to my heart. Writing in her voice was difficult, but definitely worth the hard work. (I don’t know if you read the earlier version; it was published in 2000 — there was no Internet or digital photos, just a threat from Jason to reveal Polaroids. I was really pleased that my publisher agreed to let me update it — life is so much more dangerous now for the Leslies of the world.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

