Harmony Book Reviews

Vamps by Nancy A. Collins

Posted on: January 25, 2009

 VampsTitle: Vamps

Author: Nancy A. Collins

Rating: 5/10

Summary: (Taken from Amazon)

When the sun goes down, New York’s true elite all head to one place: Bathory Academy, where the young ladies of the finest vampire families are trained in shapeshifting and luring their prey.

Bathory’s reigning queen, Lilith Todd, is the daughter of a powerful vampire businessman, and she knows exactly what she wants from life. She wants to look beautiful for eternity and party till the sun comes up with her gorgeous boyfriend, Jules. And she doesn’t want any New Blood upstarts standing in her way.

Enter Cally Monture, an unexpected threat from a trash zip code. When their first meeting leads to tragic results, Lilith is hungry for revenge.

My Thoughts: Vamps is 235 pages of cliched mush. The characters were extremely shallow and though Cally was beginning to show some other sides, it was barely worth finishing the book for. Don’t believe me? There’s one scene were Lilith is more worried about her dad cancelling her credit card than the fact that her best friend was just killed!

The plot wouldn’t have been half-bad if there hadn’t been so much name dropping. In the end, it was like Gossip Girl with vampires. So I suppose if you really like Gossip Girl, you’ll enjoy this.

There’s not really much to say about this. If you’re a die-hard vampire fan who just adores Gossip Girl, you might like this. If you aren’t, I’d say pass on it.

12 Responses to "Vamps by Nancy A. Collins"

Yeah, for NY’s true elite vamps I like to read Melissa De La Cruz’s Blue Bloods series. 🙂

do you by any chance know just exactly who is on the cover?
and who is who?

I am pretty sure it is Cally, Tantith and Lilth

Ooh it looks good!

Really? I was planning to pick it up at one point because I liked the cover. Lol, I hate GG so guess I’ll be passing up on this.

I just finished this book. I think the author has trouble developing parts of it. Like Cally and Peter… did that seem rushed and awkward to anyone else. I definitely felt the gossip girl like feel to it and also found it super weird how nobody really cared that Tanith died. Does anyone know who the girls one the cover are?

The girls on the cover of VAMPS are tanith on the left lilith in the middle and Cally on the right

Tanith, Lilth and Cally

i think that nancy was trying to say how vain some people can be. i meani could be wrong. but this is just one opinion. i think she was trying to say that some peopl are so vain that they dont even care about people as much as they care about cell phones and credit cards. again only my opinion.

Does anyone know when the 4th book in the vamps series comes out. I haven’t heard anything about it yet.

idk, but is there even going to be one I am trying to find something about it cause I have just read the series and I cna’t find news about it anywhere

If the review is accurate, it’s a shame—Nancy Collins wrote the best vampire fiction of the past three decades, “Sunglasses After Dark”, the book that made Ayn Rice cry.

A pity if she’s had to write dreck for money; yet anothewr argument for Universal Unemployment.

Leave a comment


  • Megan: Just read LAST CHRISTMAS. I would SOOO reccomend it to people who havent even read the private series. It is soo good.The suspense was kiling me all t
  • Lola: Oh my gosh! i just finished it....i googled the song for i had never herd it before......may have been a mistake because it is in my head for taciturn
  • mais: heeeyyyy.... can anyonePLEASE give me the link or even send me the copy of the eighth book(revelation on my email because i cant find it anywhere for

Categories