Harmony Book Reviews

Peace, Locomotion by Jacqueline Woodson

Posted on: January 24, 2009

 Peace, LocomotionTitle: Peace, Locomotion

Author: Jacqueline Woodson

Rating: 9/10

Summary: (Taken from Amazon)

Twelve-year-old Lonnie is finally feeling at home with his foster family. But because he’s living apart from his little sister, Lili, he decides it’s his job to be the “rememberer”—and write down everything that happens while they’re growing up. Lonnie’s musings are bittersweet; he’s happy that he and Lili have new families, but though his new family brings him joy, it also brings new worries. With a foster brother in the army, concepts like Peace have new meaning for Lonnie.

Told through letters from Lonnie to Lili, this thoughtprovoking companion to Jacqueline Woodson’s National Book Award finalist Locomotion tackles important issues in captivating, lyrical language. Lonnie’s refl ections on family, loss, love and peace will strike a note with readers of all ages.

My Thoughts: As soon as I saw this book, I knew it was going to be good. I can’t say how – perhaps it was the cover or the description – but I knew. And Peace, Locomotion stood up to my expectations.

Peace, Locomotion is only about 120 pages long but it tackles more emotion and life’s hard lessons better than most books twice it’s length. Lonnie is a character that I’m sure we can all relate to. Though he’s not the smartest kid in town, he often thinks about things many people may over-look, including Peace.

The entire novel is told only in letters to Lonnie’s little sister (who lives in a separate foster home) so you hear less about his life and current actions which makes the characters a little less developed than what I would have liked.

Despite that, I think Peace, Locomotion is a book that everyone should read. It’s thought-provoking and intelligent and something everyone will enjoy.

4 Responses to "Peace, Locomotion by Jacqueline Woodson"

I saw this one at Lenore site, I thought it was really nice and different.

[…] Peace, Locomotion still sticks with me today. […]

I haven’t read this book yet, but it looks really good.

This is defiinitly a 10 rated book. Or as Randy Jackson would say it was on fire

Leave a comment


  • Megan: Just read LAST CHRISTMAS. I would SOOO reccomend it to people who havent even read the private series. It is soo good.The suspense was kiling me all t
  • Lola: Oh my gosh! i just finished it....i googled the song for i had never herd it before......may have been a mistake because it is in my head for taciturn
  • mais: heeeyyyy.... can anyonePLEASE give me the link or even send me the copy of the eighth book(revelation on my email because i cant find it anywhere for

Categories