Harmony Book Reviews

Summer Reading

Posted on: June 18, 2008

Summer is finally here and while that may be the busiest time of the year for some of us, it’s also the most relaxing time. And that usually means more time for reading. I love reading during the summer, sprawled out on my trampoline getting a tan at the same time, and I can usually read at least a book a day. Maybe you already have a huge stack of books ready for your summer reading or maybe, like me, you’re always on the lookout for new summer reads. Here are some of my favorites to read during the summer:

Frenemies by Alexa Young
Defying the Diva by D. Anne Love
Wish You Were Here by Catherine Clark
Better Latte Than Never by Catherine Clark
Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen
Wild Horse Island series by Terri Farley
Airhead by Meg Cabot
ANY of Meg Cabot’s Books
I’d Tell You I Love You, Then I’d Have To Kill You by Ally Carter
The Comeback Season by Jennifer E. Smith
Breaking Up is Hard To Do by various authors
Violet on the Runway (and sequels) by Melissa Walker
Twilight, New Moon, and Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer
The Host by Stephenie Meyer
Seven Tears into the Sea by Terri Farley
If I Have A Wicked Stepmother, Where’s My Prince? and Confessions of a NOT It Girl by Melissa Kantor
Dairy Queen and The Off Season by Catherine Murdock
Private series by Kate Brian
Mermaid Park by Beth Mayall
Naomi and Ely’s No Kiss List by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn
Becoming Chloe by Catherine Ryan Hyde
She’s So Money by Cherry Cheva

Books like Frenemies, Wish You Were Here, Violet on the Runway, and I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have To Kill You have the fun style to them with a more slightly serious underlying plot, like friendship troubles or identity issues, that make them fun to read but also make you think.

Becoming Chloe, Lock and Key, and many of the other books on the list deal with difficult topics (like abuse) by creating characters that you’ll love and even though certain topics aren’t exactly light, they make a great summer read if you want to think.

But if you don’t want books that make you think and just want the summer romance, I’d suggest any of Meg Cabot’s books, as well as She’s So money, Confessions of a NOT It Girl, Mermaid Park and almost the rest of the list might be your thing.It all depends on your summer reading style but I hope you find something good to read this summer.¬†

I know that there’s also a bunch of other books coming out this summer and others that are already out that I really want to read this summer. Breaking Dawn is coming out in August and so is Violet in Private, both of which I’m extremely excited for and I’m hoping to get my hands on The Luxe as well as some of the Simon Romantic Comedies. I’m sure that there will¬† be others I find after I go to the bookstore.

So what does your summer reading list look like? Do you find yourself reading a different books in the summer than what you’d normally read the rest of the year? Are there any books that you reread every summer?

5 Responses to "Summer Reading"

Wow! That’s a bunch of books. There’s a few on the list that I might read. Lock and Key sounds awesome.

Mostly I’m reading my AP Euro books this summer, as well as the english requirements.

I’m reading a great book at the moment- Founding Mothers. For more YA-ish books, I’m planning on rereading Would you? by Marthe Jocelyn.

I really enjoyed The Luxe and I hope you do too! I’m excited to read Rumors, the second book in the series this summer.

I used to reread THE CHINA GARDEN every year, but I pretty much know it to well now and need to take a break.

My summer reading list is amorphous, so I don’t really know what’s on it.

I just finished NORTH OF BEAUTIFUL by Justina Chen Headley, and it was excellent.

Mmm, I just love Summer reading! I want to read like all of those books on that list, plus some. lol

Great list!

-Breanna

Impressive list, I’ll probably reread New Moon this summer.

I usually read a biography and historical and sci-fi books. I’ll probably start with The Other Boleyn Girl.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

